What next for Libby?


Nail Colour range

A sneak peak at some of the 2012 nail colours in my cosmetics line, gelicious. Launching in Oct.

OK. We’re settled back in Sydney. Our sea change is a distant memory now and we have returned to the grueling Sydney pace of life.

As it turns out, the time down south was the much needed calm before the storm.

Many of you know I have been squirreling away on a (not so top secret) cosmetics brand. The launch for gelicious is now around the corner in October.

I would say creating gelicious is, without a doubt, the most challenging thing I have done in my life, but I am loving every sleepless minute a new venture brings.

While I have been using the web to build brands and drive sales for clients for years, much of this is new.

From the challenges of designing nail colour across language barriers to getting my head around logistics, warehousing* and stock level management, I have used every ounce of resourcefulness at my fingertips, and squeezed every creative drop out of my imagination to create something that was, well… nothing.

I remember a distributor asking me a detail about one of the products and it didn’t exist yet. I had similar samples, had it all planned out and I knew it would! There are times when you just have to believe that you won’t give up in order to make it happen.

Hand Model Eleanor

Hand Model Eleanor at the first gelicious shoot

They say to surround yourself with good people. I have been blessed with amazing talent without whom this would not be a reality: designers, a writer, manufacturers, web developers, actors, a film director, a fashion guru, a business mentor and it also helps to have a financially clever husband to approve my business plan.

So why am I doing this? Why the long hours, the drive to create something that does not exist?

On one level is no different to running a marathon, reaching the summit on a mountain, or attaining academic goals (none of which interest me in the slightest).  Achievement itself is a blast. But that isn’t all of it.

The brand ‘essence’ for gelicious is defined as ‘gorgeously GOOD fun’. I hope to do good things with this brand. The supply chain that feeds our beauty industry trails back to communities in developing countries where children often miss out on clean water and education. The only reason achievement is a blast that I can enjoy is because I was educated,  and so I can apply myself to the opportunities an education gives.

I hope I can make a GOOD difference to the people’s lives with The Gelicious Nail Co. I pray I can, maybe you could pray for that I never lose that focus.

Let me know if you’d like me to email you when we launch:

* don’t be too impressed.. I am still to work that one out.. for now my study is getting pretty full!

About Libby Malcolm

Libby Malcolm is an internet professional based in Sydney.
This entry was posted in gelicious, Internet Media. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to What next for Libby?

  1. Pingback: Gelicious has launched! | Libby Malcolm's Blog

Leave a Reply

